Geneassistant

I don’t know about you but I have a Geneassistant.

This lot often falls to the partner of a family historian. In my case it is Mr GeniAus who  often travels with me on my Geneajaunts. His Geneassistant duties include:

  • Emotional support and encouragement
  • Travel companion

    P1070700

    Mr GeniAus carrying out his Geneassistant duties in Green-Wood Cemetery, Brooklyn, New York

  • Carrying heavy bags and boxes
  • Photographing sites and cemeteries
  • Copying certificates and pages from books in archives and libraries
  • Chauffering in foreign lands
  • Interpreting maps
  • Knocking on doors when I am too shy
  • Trawling through reels of microfilm in search of a surname
  • Helping set me set up for conference presentations
  • Photographing me in action at conferences
  • Proofreading my blog posts and finding errors on my website (not always appreciated)
  • Phoning archives and other places that may have records for his ancestors
  • Making suggestions and asking questions (not always appreciated)

Where would I be without my Geneassistant?

1 thought on “Geneassistant

Leave a comment