Geneamecca

I was just using the term Geneamecca in a blog post and thought that I’d share a link to the term on the Geneadictionary but I found that it was missing. I am rectifying that situation.

I thought that I had coined this term, Geneamecca but before laying claim to it I did a Google search I found that a blogger, , had used it in a blog post in 2009. Perhaps others had also used it before.  In that post the blogger described Salt Lake City, the Geneamecca as ”  the “ultimate destination” for any genealogist! “. Becky Wiseman has also used the term in some posts on her Kinexxions blog

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/mecca tells us:

“1.1 as noun a Mecca A place that attracts people of a particular group or with a particular interest.

‘Holland is a Mecca for jazz enthusiasts’”


So Salt Lake City is a mecca for genealogists – a Geneamecca – a place every geenalogist should visit at least once in his or her lifetime

Family Discovery Center, Salt Lake City

Family Discovery Center, Salt Lake City

 

Leave a comment