Seven Days in the Life of a Blog

This evening the Geneadictionary is one week old..

I am thrilled with the response I have had from the geneablogging community. There have been encouraing comments on the blog, the URL has been shared on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ by my geneablogging friends and the blog has received mentions on two “Best of the week” type lists. Several folk have signed up to follow the blog. Thanks to all of you for your support.

What has been absolutely delightful is the collection of geneawords that people have suggested for the dictionary, here I must single out my mate, Pauleen Cass, a human geneadictionary, who has suggested a raft of words for inclusion. I added around 15 more words yesterday and have more to add. I am tempted to create and post entries for all of the Geneadictionary words immediately but I am trying to restrain myself lest I flood the blogisphere or run out of content. Please take a look at the Geneadictionary and AKAs pages and let me know of any additions or please share any information you may have about the history of the words there.

Between 16 and 38 visitors have visited the site each day (can’t find a total) and they have made a total of 479 page views. I think that’s pretty healthy for an infant blog and am rather chuffed.

Page Views by Day

Page Views by Day

As would be expected most of the visitors are from English speaking countries with Australia just nudging out the United States for most page views. A special g’day goes to the visitors from Italy and Sweden.

Page Views by Country

Can  you tell thatI am enjoying the way that WordPress displays statistics which is so different from what i am used to with Blogger. BTW most visitors came via Google+, my favourite social media site for genealogy, followed by Facebook,Twitter, Geneabloggers and GeniAus.

I wonder what next week will bring?

One thought on “Seven Days in the Life of a Blog

  1. Thanks for the mention Jill. I’m not surprised the infant is growing apace…it has flair, humour and your reputation to give it great opportunities. I’ve added it my Feedly feed a few days ago…never sure if they show in the stats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

